Up tiding

All topics related to owning your own boat here.
SeaSickSmiffy

Up tiding

Post by SeaSickSmiffy »

Hi all

I'm new to boat fishing (so new in fact that I haven't got the boat yet, still looking!!) but was wondering about using the up tiding method. Seen it used on various TV progs and mentioned in the mags. I've got an idea as to how it works but can't for the life of me work out how bite indication works.

Anyone got any advice/links where I can find out more?

Cheers

SeaSick

westy
Advanced User
Advanced User

Post by westy »

hi mate, uptiding is not hard to do just say if you was fishing beside the boat cabin you want to cast to your 11 or 1 oclock all depends on wot side you fishing from and when it comes to letting line out- how it see it if your fishing in 25ft water let out about the same in line all depends on the tide you fishing in. if you want more info just google HOW TO UPTIDE

tomcat
Regular
Regular

Post by tomcat »

If you really want to get full benefits from the technique I can do no better than you try obtain a book titled "Uptide and boatcasting." By Bob Cox and John Rawle. They were boat skippers from Essex that fine tuned the techniques required.
Returning to your initial question about bite recognition.