newbie in need of help

All topics related to owning your own boat here.
b1gash
Occasional
Occasional

newbie in need of help

Post by b1gash » Sat Jul 11, 2009 2:00 pm

Hi all i have been toying this the idea of getting a boat for many years, im now looking not sure on what i want but has to be for fishing,
Any advice would be great on boats navigation and everything els that come with it.

hammyloz
Regular
Regular

Post by hammyloz » Sat Jul 11, 2009 5:35 pm

eccles
Advanced User
Advanced User

Post by eccles » Sat Jul 11, 2009 5:53 pm

Guessing that you will want to mess about in the Thames estuary I would go for an Orkney Longliner - 16 ft which is fine for two, reasonably seaworthy and does not need a big and thirsty motor to push it along at a reasonable speed. Oh and by the way, you don't need a cuddy either - they just get in the way and you ain't going out when it's pouring with rain are you?

b1gash
Occasional
Occasional

Post by b1gash » Sun Jul 12, 2009 4:19 pm

ya i should have said,
i want it for th wife and me and every now and again some friends.
i found a place to moor the boat in canvey island so ill want to fish around there to start with, till i know what im doing and then i can try els where,
as for the navie im hopping to get one with a boat, but if i dont ill let you know.

i dont know about 16ft boat i was looking at something abit bigger around 20-25 as im abit worried about a small boat out at see, will be ok??????????

eccles
Advanced User
Advanced User

Post by eccles » Sun Jul 12, 2009 8:12 pm