Shading, what do you think.

All topics related to owning your own boat here.
togiduck

Shading, what do you think.

Post by togiduck » Wed Apr 29, 2009 9:10 pm

I have taken up to use my shades for fishing, here is the way I normally set the rig up.
I thread my braid through a plastic boom tube, slip a bead on then tie a swivel clip on, I then tie a swivel onto a 5ft length of mono, then at the other end tie the shad on, this seems to work OK.
I have read the web site of a Whitby skipper, who recommends, threading a 50lb mono throught the boom, with another swivel connecting it to the braid, when I try this it makes the whole rig longer than my rod, I would envisage that when reeling in the rest of the rig would still be in the water and the use of a gaff or net would be required.
What are the members thought on this?

tokai

Post by tokai » Fri May 08, 2009 11:12 am

Hi -

I'm no expert (8 days till my first wrecking trip for 30 years) but...

I've often read that you shouldn't attach your braid directly to your rig, but would have a length of mono (about 30ft, I've read). I thought that would be tied directly to the braid, not with a swivel to connect the two. The argument is that the mono resists abrasion against the wreck or reef better than braid and gives a little bit of stretch to cushion against the first crash dive of a pollack.

It's also not unusual to have a rig that's longer than your rod. If you look for details of a flying collar rig for use with artificial eels, it's often recommended that you have a total trace length of between 12 and 18 feet. So unless you're using a beachcaster...

Cheers,

Tokai

tokai

Post by tokai » Fri May 08, 2009 11:16 am

Have a look at this site...

http://www.fishing.co.uk/article.php3?id=792

For shads - assuming they're weighted - I've read that people tend to use a "hopper" rig with a trace about 4ft. Sounds like what you're doing.

Tokai

breamer

Post by breamer » Tue Jun 09, 2009 9:06 pm