TR Thompson Wreck off Newhaven (copy from south east forum)

All topics related to owning your own boat here.
SafferSteve

TR Thompson Wreck off Newhaven (copy from south east forum)

Post by SafferSteve »

Hi

Newbie here to the forum and liking what I see....lots of good info.

Ever heard the saying all the gear no idea....Well that me winking

Got myself a little 18" cabin boat last year and had a great time fishing for black bream,Mackrel just off Peacehaven and thornbacks,dogs(pests) off Brightlingsea....however I want to do some "proper" fishing now and need a little advice.

Hope I'm not offending anyone when I say that the fish above don't put up much of a fight and even the thornbacks are like winching in a kite in a strong tide.

To be fair the bream does give a good account for it's size.

So now I'm looking to fish a wreck off Newhaven for Cod or something that's got a good fight and is good for the pan.

The wreck I'm looking to try is the TR Thompson and believe I'll be able to find it with GPS and sonar but once there I don't really know what I should be doing.

Do I drift over?.....trying not to catch a diver or do I anchor up. Is there some etiquette to be followed with the dive boats, commercial fisher boats? What bait/lures do I use. Do these wrecks fish well in March? What fish should I be targeting? Any clues on fishing rigs?

Please any help would be much appreciated.

Cheers

rabbi2
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Post by rabbi2 »

Not my area Im afraid, but if divers are about the it should be well marked with a bouy. One of the local lads will be alongf and hopefully be more helpful
Oh by the way a warm welome to the forums. Cheers keith :D :D

SafferSteve

Post by SafferSteve »

Hi Keith

Thanks for the warm welcome.

Will keep an eye out for the dive bouys ;)

PS would you recommend braid or nylon for divers :D :D :D

SafferSteve

Post by SafferSteve »

Bit slow on the replies.....Guys.

Anyone got any helpfull info??