Help choosing rods and reels for first timer

Please feel free to add your Kayak fishing related posts here.
40Yak

Help choosing rods and reels for first timer

Post by 40Yak » Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:34 pm

I've done kayaking before and my wife has just bought me an angler kayak so i can start sea fishing off or cowes in the solent.

However, I've never done fishing before and while i'm very keen, i'm also very green.

I need help in deciding what types of rod and reel etc i need?

Do I need multiple rods as seen in many kayak fishing pics?

I'm fishing for eating not sport. My kids and I love fish and its expensive still so I thought I could enjoy my kayak, get int ofishing and bring home supper!!!

Do I sound daft?? lol

manic_muppet
Honorary Member R.I.P

Post by manic_muppet » Sat Dec 18, 2010 5:09 am

Hi, welcome to the forum. A lot of peeps fish for their supper, but as your new to the game, can i just point out that there are size limits. If you look on the left of the homepage under forums, you will see NFSA size limits. Also, with conservation in mind, could you only take what you need. You probably already know this, but i wouldnt want you to inadvertantly do something that would get the backs up of your fellow anglers. Sorry im no help with your kayak fishing, but im sure someone will be along to help you out, and might even be able to show you the ropes. Good luck, and if your successful, mines a Cod buttie, with salt n vinegar. :D :D :D Cheers..Mick

40Yak

Post by 40Yak » Sat Dec 18, 2010 6:54 am

Thanks for this, I'd be impressed catching a fish let alone loads. Seriously though its a very valid point. I'd only look to catch what we could and would eat.

As for the question of minimum size, this is also the kind of advice I need before I go out so will definitely read up first.

Thanks

gynewguy
Occasional
Occasional

Post by gynewguy » Sat Dec 18, 2010 8:02 am

Hi yak and a warm welcome from Grimsby!