new and need help

anything South West sea fishing related here
lee_new

new and need help

Post by lee_new » Fri Aug 27, 2010 3:13 pm

Hi there im new to fishing (havent cast a line yet), and was wondering if anybody would be kind enough to help me out.
im currently in possesion of a 10ft carbon fiber sea rod (or so i am told).
I have no other equipment at the present moment in time and would like to know what other items i need to start me off on my fishing voyage.
NAy information no matter how insugnificant will be of help remeber people i know nothing of the sport and would love to fall in love with it with your help

thanks Lee

tensenervoushaddock
Regular
Regular

Post by tensenervoushaddock » Fri Aug 27, 2010 3:57 pm

where do you intend to fish?

that will determine what gear you will need.

gynewguy
Occasional
Occasional

Post by gynewguy » Sat Aug 28, 2010 6:39 am

I reckon the 10ft rod may have problems casting too far (but you don't always need to). 12ft seems to be the norm. If you're pier/rock fishing it may well be adequate imho.

Si

lee_new

Post by lee_new » Sat Aug 28, 2010 6:52 am

im planning on fishing down seaton and lyme regious area i've been told that before about the rod but dont want to go buying a 12ft one untill im sure that i like fishing if you understand what i mean

rabbi2
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Post by rabbi2 » Sat Aug 28, 2010 7:10 am

Once biten by the sea fishing bug all is lost!
cheers
keith :D :D

gynewguy
Occasional
Occasional

Post by gynewguy » Sat Aug 28, 2010 7:28 am

I totally see what you mean about wasting money. Not my area so can't comment. Still, give it a go!

Si

lee_new

Post by lee_new » Sat Aug 28, 2010 1:20 pm

thanks for your help guys i'll keep you posted about how i get on have ahd a few friends offer to teach me the ropes in a couple of weeks time so fingers crossed :)

kirk

Post by kirk » Sun Aug 29, 2010 8:32 am