Has anybody tested these?

Only for the discussion of Terminal Tackle ie: Links, crimps, Swivels, clips, weights and so on.
maniacmark

Has anybody tested these?

Post by maniacmark » Wed Apr 13, 2011 7:44 pm

I have seen these on a popular auction site, wondered if anybody has tried these or similar types.

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

As an engineer I have made my own weights (and moulds) for a long time.

rabbi2
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Post by rabbi2 » Wed Apr 13, 2011 8:02 pm

They are superb for lifting the weight clear from snaggy area's using a fast retrieve. You can also us a similar shaped thing made in plastic that goes above you weight to achieve the same thing.

Quite useful on occasions.
Cheers
keith :D :D

wannacatch1
Advanced User
Advanced User

Post by wannacatch1 » Wed Apr 13, 2011 11:58 pm

Never used them but can imagine good on the right grond for smuts??
decent run . ;) ;)

DAZ :D :D

eccles
Advanced User
Advanced User

Post by eccles » Thu Apr 14, 2011 8:39 am

Sorry to disagree with rabbi2 but I just don't believe that they work in the way that they are supposed to. One of my mates had one a year or so back and he still got snagged. Let's think about it: Most of us will attach them with some kind of swivel, in which case what is to stop them from spinning round and thus not "planing" in the water. I think that a far more sophisticated device would be needed to plane in the water and thus lift the rig out of the way of any snag areas near the bottom.

dontcatchmuch

Post by dontcatchmuch » Thu Apr 14, 2011 8:44 am

i have never used them but if you think how much a lead without the lifts on gets dented and knocked about on rough ground i woud think that these would soon become usless ,the thin molded lift would bend / where away .ill stick to the plastic ones .just my opinioun
steve

actionsanta
Occasional
Occasional

Post by actionsanta » Thu Apr 14, 2011 11:18 am