Impact bait shields and how to attache them

Discussion of sea fishing rigs, clip down, wishbone, up and over, flapper and long distance rigs.
Reels_on_wheels

Impact bait shields and how to attache them

Post by Reels_on_wheels » Fri Dec 21, 2007 6:32 pm

Hi folks, yes I can't help myself.
I am going to build some Pennel rigs with impact shields on them but when I bought a packet of four there is an additional piece of rubber in the packet. I did try to put it over the bottom of the shield but it seems the internal diameter is too small. Is this where it is supposed to go? If not, where does it go?
I have made just about every rig but this is my first attempt at using an impact shield. Can anyone shed any light on this situation? Am I just being stupid and something is blatantly staring me in the face?
Please forgive my ignorance but I thought I had better ask before going ahead and making a mess of things.
I have looked at many diagrams of rigs but nothing explains how to add the bait shield.
Thanks
Reels

VifferRider
Advanced User
Advanced User

Post by VifferRider » Fri Dec 21, 2007 8:12 pm

Give me an hour and you will have a step by step guide ;)

VifferRider
Advanced User
Advanced User

Post by VifferRider » Fri Dec 21, 2007 8:39 pm

Reels_on_wheels

Thank you

Post by Reels_on_wheels » Fri Dec 21, 2007 11:13 pm

Hi VifferRider
Thanks very much for taking the time to do this, it is really appreciated. I was on the right track but just could not get black tubing on the bottom, but I will do as you have mentioned.
This is why this is a great forum, because people take the time to do things like this especially for beginners like me.

I like the bike, I had a CBR6 and this is how I ended up in the wheelchair.
PM me and I will give you the whole story. Very simple accident but shocking outcome.