Pulley Rigs

Discussion of sea fishing rigs, clip down, wishbone, up and over, flapper and long distance rigs.
wainy

Pulley Rigs

Post by wainy » Sat Oct 27, 2007 6:24 pm

I am new to sea fishing and i use very simple rigs. I was wondering what is the pulley rigs and any other useful rigs you think I should know. Cheers for the help!

Nem
Occasional
Occasional

Post by Nem » Sat Oct 27, 2007 6:38 pm

Hey I've been sea fishing for just over 3 months now so I'm in the same situation as you are. So far, I've found that Pennel, Pulley and Paternoster are the easiest rigs to use.

A pulley rig is simply a 'U' shaped rig, the main advantage of this is that when you reel in, the heaviest object is dragged behind, reducing snags. It also stops the weight from bashing the fish.

I've found this site very useful for rigs:
http://www.geocities.com/tony2kuk

eccles
Advanced User
Advanced User

Post by eccles » Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:26 pm

It's often better to put two hook baits out because that doubles the scent trail which nearly all fish use at times to hunt down their food. The simplest way to do this is the so called two hook flapper which involves two hook snoods attached to the main body of the rig making sure that they are sufficiently far apart to reduce the possibilty of them tangling together. A flapper rig is shown on this web site which you can view. Personally I prefer the more complex clipped down rigs though because they tend to cast further when you want and the chances of the bait flying off when you cast are considerably reduced.

Northernheart

Post by Northernheart » Wed Nov 21, 2007 6:23 pm

ive been using the pully rig just latley and caught a few whiting with no problem
Homemade

Steve

crazy-dude
Regular
Regular

Post by crazy-dude » Wed Nov 21, 2007 7:05 pm

Sometimes its best to buy 1 rig from the tackle shop so that you have a ready made sample then buy the bits so you can copy it.
I find that a clipped down pulley rig is one of the best to use