Tackle

General Sea Fishing Tackle discussion here.
edloc69
SE Coast Moderator
SE Coast Moderator

Tackle

Post by edloc69 » Tue Apr 24, 2007 8:48 pm

Can anybody give me a bit of advice about what rods and reels to buy, I'm not that good at casting but am keen to practise and I don't really want to spend more thanabout £100-£150 I know I ain't going to get much for this but any advice will be gratefully taken in :?:

stuartdv

Post by stuartdv » Tue Apr 24, 2007 10:07 pm

You're being far too pessimitstic about the cost of decent tackle Edloc- you will be able to get a cracking rod amd reel for that sort of price, e.g.-

Daiwa Supercast (prob abve budget with reel)
Daiwa Sandstorm
Abu Conlon Xodus- Spottydog are doing this for £89
Ron Thomson Xcellerator

Reels- For casting reels i reckon the best deal at the moment is the old style green Abu mag Elite which is going for £69.99- i personally use the Xodus teamed up with the Mag Elite for clean (ish) fishing and find it's a perfect combination for casting and fishing. If youre fishing rougher ground you prob cant go wrong with a Daiwa Slosh 20 or 30.

There are loads more rods out there that fall under your budget- but it depends on what kind of fishing you do- rough ground/clean ground etc

Give some more details of the fishing you intend doing and what you want to use the rod/reel for and someone will point you in the right direction- but in all honesty I'd get yourself into your local tackle shop once you're armed with what you're looking for then try and get a good deal from them. look in the mags, find out the best prices then work from there.

These are my thoughts- I'm sure others might have different views/opinions.

Cheers

Stuartdv

Bread

Post by Bread » Wed Apr 25, 2007 8:26 am

If your're going for multipliers, just make sure that the rod is rigged for used with multipliers - but you probably knew that anyway.

blakdog

Post by blakdog » Wed Apr 25, 2007 2:48 pm