bait for thorneys

Discussion of Sea fishing bait, Mackerel, Ragworm, Squid, Hermit Crab, Lugworm bait.
fisher_callum
Occasional
Occasional

bait for thorneys

Post by fisher_callum » Thu Sep 16, 2010 6:02 pm

hi all can anyone help me out here? i plan to fish sandwich bay not this weekend but next weekend for a ray ive looked at rabbi2's availability of sea fish species by month and i think there might just be a few kicking about down the bay if so what bait is best to use for them?

cheers in advance!

Fisher_callum :D :D

dontcatchmuch

Post by dontcatchmuch » Thu Sep 16, 2010 6:13 pm

hi fella im no expert and ive only ever cought 2 and that was sunday just gone but as far as i no squid and mackie are the best baits for thornies but someone else may have more info hope this is of help
steve

redmouse
Advanced User
Advanced User

Post by redmouse » Fri Sep 17, 2010 12:40 pm

ive only had a few but ive been told that sand eel is the number 1 bait for rays, followed by fresh mack and then squid.
all mine were on sand eel and squid cocktails.

andymad
Regular
Regular

Post by andymad » Fri Sep 17, 2010 3:53 pm

where your fishing around kent blueys will catch you more rays than any other fish baits,sandeels also.Try to get ammo blueys 90% of the rays me and my mates have had all been on blueys or sandeel bluey wrap.

andy

fisher_callum
Occasional
Occasional

Post by fisher_callum » Fri Sep 17, 2010 6:12 pm

andymad wrote:where your fishing around kent blueys will catch you more rays than any other fish baits,sandeels also.Try to get ammo blueys 90% of the rays me and my mates have had all been on blueys or sandeel bluey wrap.

andy
hi mate ill be fishing sandwich bay. :D

andymad
Regular
Regular

Post by andymad » Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:57 pm

You might pick the odd ray up,but you wont beat blueys at sandwich bay or most of the kent coast although sandeels will do

fisher_callum
Occasional
Occasional

ammo

Post by fisher_callum » Thu Sep 23, 2010 4:40 pm