Shock Leader... Yes or No?

Please only use this forum for the discussion of Sea Fishing Lines and Braid.
davcon4005

Shock Leader... Yes or No?

Post by davcon4005 »

Hi

I am really new to all of this so all advice welcome.
I will be using 18lb line with a 3oz weight, this will be my max due to my illness. I have been told that as I will be using a small weight there will be no need to add a leader to my line.

I will be beachcasting mainly and I will try to avoid areas that are busy until my confidence grows. I would also like to pier fish and think that is where my problems might start.

Thanks for your comments. Dave... :) :-/

rabbi2
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Post by rabbi2 »

Hi mate, Although you are using only a 3oz weight personally I would still use a shock leader, a length of 30 or 40 line would suffice.

The rule of thumb is normally 10lb line to every oz of weight IE 5oz = 50lb shock leader.
Cheers
Keith :D :D
Last edited by rabbi2 on Mon Apr 25, 2011 1:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

davcon4005

Post by davcon4005 »

rabbi2 wrote:Hi mate, Although you are using only a 3oz weight personally I would still use a shock leader, a length of 30 or 40 line would suffice.

The rule of thum is normall 10lb line to every oz of weight ie 5oz = 50lb shockleader.
Cheers
keith :D :D
Thanks Keith.

Appreciated.

Regards Dave..

tensenervoushaddock
Regular
Regular

Post by tensenervoushaddock »

the 10lb per ounce 'rule' is for people built like brick outhouses doing full blooded pendulum casts.... you mention illness so I imagine you don't fit in to that class....if you are using 3oz I guess you are not using a stiff distance rod.
I use 3oz weights on 18lb leaders with bass rods and it's fine, completely safe.....never had a snap off yet..... and if I did it would head off safely seaward and not dangerously up the beach like it does when morons pendulum cast on crowded beaches.

eccles
Advanced User
Advanced User

Post by eccles »