brake failure

Discussion of Sea Fishing Reels, multiplier and fixed spool reels.
guyos

brake failure

Post by guyos »

Hi folks

I am just starting to learn to use the multiplier reading a lot from the forums.

I have an Abu 6500 C3 Ct mag elite reel bought on ebay looks in very good nick, but my problem is setting it up, it already had line and shockleader on it, but I read that I should put a weight on it and hold the rod up, tighten the knob on the end and adjust it till the weight just slides down slowly and stop. Trouble is, however much I tighten it and even using the other knob as well, the weight just races to the ground. These adjustments make no difference at all with both knobs screwed tight.

I looked inside and matched the schematic and nothing is missing, I even oiled it with the Abu oil.

Please advise my next step Thanks

Guyos

whitbydiver
Regular
Regular

Post by whitbydiver »

:D hi there it sounds like the brakes have been removed from the inner spool if my memory is correct there should be 2 small rubber brakes on the inner spool opposite side to the handle,just po a side plate off n ave a look ,i hope this helps.
screemin reels
whitby

edwards73
Advanced User
Advanced User

Post by edwards73 »

best person to ask on here would be REEL_WIZARD
my self have got 2 abu 6500 c3 ct mag's and have had no problem setting them up as some1 said about brake blocks on the spool mayb missing but myself dont use brake blocks i just use the mag as the blocks only slow it down when the cast is in full flow not when your dropping it down from a rod. if your tightening it right down with the spool blances and the reel still dont go tight when you took it apart was there a large brass bit on the mag side inside the reel? as thats the main part that tightens it down. another thing to be carefull of is you can over tighten it and do the bearings no good at all but im sure reel_wizard will correct me on this

simon

strathy
Regular
Regular

Post by strathy »